Chennai Grand Masters 2023

India’s strongest ever Classical Super Tournament

Chennai Grand Masters 2023 — India’s strongest ever Classical Super Tournament

It’s the last month of the year but we are ending the chess calendar of events on Indian soil with a bang! From 15th to 21st of December the first ever super tournament of the country is going to be held in Chennai India. It is sponsored and supported by the Tamil Nadu Government and Sports Development Authority of Tamil Nadu and organized by MGD1, NODWIN Gaming and ChessBase India. It’s the strongest ever classical super tournament on Indian soil with a rating average of 2711. The main attraction of the event will be the two Indian youngsters Gukesh and Arjun Erigaisi trying to take on some of the best in the world — Maghsoodloo, Aronian and others. WE tell you all about the event that is beginning from the 15th of December 2023.

The players of the Chennai Grandmaster

Parham Maghsoodloo (2742)

Arjun Erigaisi (2727)

Levon Aronian (2723)

D. Gukesh (2720)

Sanan Sjugirov (2703)

Pentala Harikrishna (2696)

Pavel Eljanov (2691)

Alexandr Predke (2689)

Rating average of the event: 2711 Elo

The tournament will be held from the 15th to the 21st of December 2023. Each day the round will begin at 3 p.m. IST with round 1 being on 15th of December and round 7 being on the 21st. The final round will begin slightly before the usual time.

Prize money:

Total fund: Rs.50 lakh (US$60,000)

1st place: Rs.15 lakh (US$18,000)

2nd place: Rs.10 lakh (US$12,000)

3rd place: Rs. 8 lakh (US$9,600)

4th place: Rs.5 lakh (US$6,000)

5th place: Rs. 4 lakh (US$4,800)

6th place: Rs.3.5 lakh (US$4,200)

7th place: Rs.2.5 lakh (US$3,000)

8th place: Rs.2 lakh (US$2,400)

Time format:

90 minutes for the entire game with 30 seconds increment per move for the entire game. There will be no second time control.

Venue of the tournament:

The venue of the event is the Leela Palace Hotel in Chennai. It is one of the finest hotels in the city. This is where all the players would be staying and this is also where the tournament will happen.


Sagar and Amruta will be the official commentators for the event and the event will be broadcast live on ChessBase India.